top of page
Search

PSSST. I'M COMING CLEAN



Happy New Year!


January, the time of year when everyone seems to be talking about resolutions, and new beginnings. I’ve never been one to stand on the sideline and watch so I guess I’ll throw my hat in the ring and join the fray.


I’ve decided to do a thing… a big thing that makes me nervous to say out loud. I feel like if I say it aloud and others hear my words, then I am somehow committing myself to it - which in all honesty, is exactly why I am putting it out there. If you are reading this then the chances are good that you know that I am always “up to something”, a new job, a new project, a crazy far-flung adventure…


I’ve decided to write a book. A cookbook memoir to be precise. A collection of my favorite recipes and stories that will weave a narrative, connecting the dots and shining a spotlight on the people, food, and events that shaped my award-winning prepared food shop, Christopher’s Table.


Although I am telling you now, this project is something that I have been quietly working on for some time. For the past couple of years, I have been selecting and testing recipes, taking stock and writing draft stories, brainstorming titles, and developing chapter outlines. I have even enlisted the help of the talented Cynthia August of Cynthia August Images to begin crafting a series of vibrant imagery to help tell my story.


Is it ready? Nope. Not even close. Despite all that I have been doing, I still have a lot of hard work ahead of me. So why tell you now? Because for me, this is like all those people who signed up for


January gym memberships. Like them, I am motivated to harness the energy of a new year, and a fresh start to increase my momentum and move my book closer to completion. I realize the January gym membership analogy may not be a good one because many of us know that statistically, most of those would-be gym bunnies are on the couch with a pack of Double Stuff Oreos by mid-February. That is another reason that I am sharing this with you, accountability. The more of you who know what I am trying to do, the more committed I hope to be in reaching my goal. My customers have always been some of my best cheerleaders and I am determined to not let you (or myself) down.


So there you have it. I’ve come clean. Now, I can get back to the hard stuff, producing a book that I am proud of, a book worthy of sharing with you. In the meantime, feel free to drop me a line, cheer me on from the bleachers, ask me questions, share your favorite memories from Christopher’s Table, or anything at all.




In the meantime, I wish you every success with your own resolutions and goals for the new year.


May 2023 be filled with health, happiness, and a few less Oreos.


Best,

Christopher




418 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page